X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The **** Old Days...New Book

www.thecrapolddays.com

I'm an author who's just written a humorous nostalgia book...

As you might guess from the name, it's a comedy book that takes a different angle on nostalgia - recalling what was rubbish about the past (Izal toilet paper for instance!)... but trying to do it in a light hearted and still nostalgic way. Be warned, you will need a sense of humour, and there's a touch of choice language here and there!

There are some sample entries up on the site, please do let me know what you make of it, any feedback would be great.

Ciarn
    Last edited by sixtyten; 02-10-2008, 21:00.

Re: The **** Old Days...New Book

I, for one, already have this book on order, after reading the various parts posted on the blog, I found myself laughing out loud (something that seems to just be confined to Internet talk these days)
    Can't wait to get my hard copy

Comment

LOL yeah I could read that stuff for ages....the bit about Designer Stubble made me laugh out loud.

Comment

Loved this (even though, as a fully paid up Doctor Who nerd, I disagree with virtually everything you say about my beloved show-particularly the inference that it's actually worth watching in its new incarnation!). Have to correct yo on one thing, though-Action Man did indeed have a *****, albeit a badly sculpted and mostly unrecognisable one, before the advent of the welded on blue underpants. He had a sculpted, realistic bum, as well. Unfortunately, back in those early days, he also had non-gripping hands incapable of holding his rifle and sculpted, painted on hair. But you can't have everything. There is in fact a direct link between two of these sample entries: Action Man's tank infamously appeared in an episode of Doctor Who, because the BBC were too cheap to build a proper model for a longshot. Which in no way confirms that Doctor Who was rubbish, of course. I prefer the terms "innovative and resourceful" myself...