Rarest Spectrum game ?!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rarest Spectrum game ?!?

Right then, I have an incredibly rare Codemasters game.
    It is a special version of the Codemasters Gold game 'Rock Star Ate My Hamster' titled 'Rock Star Goes Bizarre'.
    The Sun newspaper commissioned a special edition of this comedy music management simulator in 1988 as a competition tie in to coincide with the games initial release.
    There were 10 runner up prizes across 3 formats (Spectrum, Amstrad & Commodore 8 bits), the aforementioned 'Rock Star Goes Bizarre'. My version is for the Sinclair ZX Spectrum.
    'Bizarre' is packaged in a plastic case, as opposed to 'Hamster's cardboard box, the game itself has it's own loading screen, as well as extra characters & scenarios.

Here is a pic of the original, and the special edition side by side. -

Click image for larger version

Name:	RockStar.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	264240

I have been in touch with World of Spectrum, but they are unaware of any other Spectrum copies existing, or copies on other formats for that matter.
    They have it listed due to me contacting them, but I haven't sent them a copy, due to Codemasters' tough anti piracy rules.
    Does anybody out there own this game, or even know about this game ?
    Everyone that i've spoken to seems to have no knowledge of this game at all, The only mentions on the entire net are from my posts, however the programmer (Colin Bradshaw-Jones) made a mention of it in an interview with Retro Gamer magazine about two or three years ago.
    I would love to know if any other copies exist anywhere, especially on the other formats.
    Anybody here ever heard of it ???

Re: Rarest Spectrum game ?!?

Originally posted by DemonEyeX View Post
    Right then, I have an incredibly rare Codemasters game.
    It is a special version of the Codemasters Gold game 'Rock Star Ate My Hamster' titled 'Rock Star Goes Bizarre'.