Christmas art crafts at school.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Christmas art crafts at school.

Hi All. I'm a newbie. Possibly a little older than most, so ignore me if I am an embarrassing elder

I was searching for an image of Affixofix paste when I came across this forum. Hence my new thread. This was the time of year when we really got into turbo production during art & craft lessons at school. Especially primary school, where the teacher would bring out (joy of joys) a new wallpaper sample book. I particularly remember a year when I managed to bag a pink and white candy-striped paper... Anyway, we seemed to have more time allocated to art and craft in those days and it certainly helped fill in those long drawn-out days anticipating Christmas.

And so a page of wallpaper + cardboard + postcard + calendar + ribbon hanger = main present for your Mum. Whilst Dad got a treacle or syrup tin covered in wallpaper full of spills - either home-made newspaper with a twist at the top or multi-coloured spills bought at the tobacconist's.

Does this ring a bell with you? I wonder if anyone has seen those little calendars around recently? I have not found anything useful online or in the shops. As I recall they came from a stationer's and cost around 6d (2.5 p) each. We do not even have a W.H.Smith's left in our town, let alone an independant stationer's, so a bit stumped on where to look.

We also made Froebel Stars aka German Stars using strips from the great wallpaper sample book. They started to get really good in the 1970s when really strong colours started to appear and no just wishy-washy pastel shades.