Toilet breaks.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toilet breaks.

Hi, I am a year 2 teacher and don't let children go to the toilet in lesson time, Would you have a problem with this rule if it was your child?

Re: Toilet breaks.

When I was young, any toilet that wasn't the one at home used to be strange and unfamiliar to me, and I tried so much to avoid using any other toilet when I was out of the house. I even used a toddler trainer seat for more years that most others would.

One example was when I was at Infant School - I was around five or six, and the inevitable happened at least twice. The wet clothes went home in a bag while something was found in my size in lost property. By the time I left, I had gained control of the situation. I know that I am speaking from my own personal experience from the best part of 35 years ago.

In recent years, I am alright when I used a public toilet, but when it comes to the urinals, sometimes that can be a bit daunting, considering that one doesn't have that much privacy, not to mention other men in the same room. I know that people have phobias of using public toilets, probably because of the hygiene and also the fact that other people can be there when it is used.

I do think that youngsters can be afraid to put their hand up and say to the teacher that they need to go during lesson time, probably because the teacher might say no, or because they may think that they are making an excuse to get out of lessons - half an hour until break, lunch or the end of school can be a long time to a youngster. If the child has special needs (and indeed bladder or bowel difficulties) then I would make an exception and give priority. Risk assessments and things like that would most likely need to be put in place compared to when I was that age.

In a nutshell, I probably wouldn't have a problem with it.
    I've everything I need to keep me satisfied
    There's nothing you can do to make me change my mind