Dungeons and Dragons and other RPG's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dungeons and Dragons and other RPG's

Anyone used to play Advanced Dungeons and Dragons and other RPG's? I was about 10 (about 1977) when a teacher first introduced me into gaming. He was cool - Mr. Richards, I think he was called, and we was in Firbeck Primary in Wollaton, Nottingham. Admittedly, it was really a story writing exercise based around a castle but I wanted to know more and the rest is history!

My mates and I started playing basic Dungeons and Dragons then moved onto Advanced then onto other role-playing games (RPG's) like Heroquest, Champions (which was a superhero game) and Middle Earth. There was also a game based around spying - Top Secret, I think it was called. The last game I bought was Space Crusade about 10 years ago.

Kids today have great games to play. I must admit, I love my XBOX360 even though I'm the wrong side of 40 (I never really grew up). However, these games relied upon your imagination. I still remember some of the games we played today. It was like a movie unfolding in your head....My mate Wally was a fantastic 'Games Master'. He used to say that I was good too. I remember scaring the snot out of him on a number of occasions...heh, heh, heh....

My children are 10, 9 and 7 now. I've dug out Heroquest and we've played it. They love it! I've yet to introduce them to Space Crusade! I've just bought 'Snit's revenge' off e-bay....

Re: Dungeons and Dragons and other RPG's

I met the original D&D at university, 1975 -'76, but for some reason played more of a different version, ITL: "In the Labyrinth". My best character was a tall dwarf, sensitive about his height problem. *Lots * of fights in inns and taverns, but a six-foot-three dwarf swings a mean axe.

Ocacsionally the early SF RPG version "Traveller", and oddities such a Bunnies and Burrows, and Tunnels and Trolls