The death of forums...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The death of forums...

You've probably noticed it yourself, but many message boards today are dead. It's a shame, but social media is to blame for why that came about. I'm just not a fan of Facebook, Twitter, and all that.

I've been visiting forums since 2003, and they used to be very active in the mid 2000s. I'm not quite certain when the decline started, but I reckon it was after 2007 when they fell out of favour. These days, I barely receive any replies on any forum.

I'm nearly 37, so I believe that now is the time to get off forums. I'm called elsewhere, and I'm known as a fan of Resident Evil. But since the games have gotten crappy, I cannot be bothered making any more threads about it. And to be honest, nobody cares anyway. There's even some server error popping up on here. So, oh well. Here's to forums, I guess.

I think that the main problem is that compared to the 2000s and even 2010s a lot more people are doing their own thing and so when it comes to forums there is fewer response compared to a few years ago.

Also, a forum like this can be quite diverse - a specific thread probably might not be of interest to the person looking at it. I hardly respond to most threads these days, and the ones that I start don't get too many replies, but it's not the end of the world - they will remain there until someone does get to respond.

At least no reply is better than a negative one - a neutral response I can live with.
    I've everything I need to keep me satisfied
    There's nothing you can do to make me change my mind
    I'm having so much fun
    My lucky number's one
    Ah! Oh! Ah! Oh!

Comment

Unfortunately, I encountered a lot of people I truly wish I had never met, either online or in person. Namely these ex autism, care personnel, my former girlfriend, that Australian guy who bothers me online, and a slew of other folk.